fitness, food, Yoga
Leave a Comment

Human Chakras, their Importance, and Relation to Food

Chakras- The Lore Behind Them

The entire universe is a culmination of various energy sources, and the human body is no exception. Before the advent of technology and science, ancient civilization theorized that all living things, no matter how big or small, carried a life force embedded within them. These were called Chakras; centers of energy which movie inside every living being. Further, there are seven chakras inside all of us.

The word chakra is derived from an old Sanskrit word which literally translates to the wheel. This makes sense as the life force or Prana (cosmic energy) which moves inside all of us is in a constant state of rotation. The average human body has seven major chakras or energy points and in a healthy person, they tend to lie in a straight line from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. These seven chakras are as below:


  1. The Root Chakra
  2. The Sacral Chakra
  3. The Solar Plexus Chakra
  4. The Heart Chakra
  5. The Throat Chakra
  6. The 3rd Eye Chakra
  7. The Crown Chakra

However, these chakras can get disturbed or imbalanced if the mind and/or the body are unhealthy either physically or emotionally. The food that a person eats along with the current emotional state has a direct effect on the chakras. The interesting thing about this fact is that certain foods, in particular, can affect the functioning of certain chakras.

Importance of Chakras

The importance of chakras stems from the fact that all seven of these chakras need to be properly balanced to ensure the smooth flow of energy in our body to ensure that the body functions optimally. Moreover, any sort of dis-balance in this process can result in immediate illness.


The first chakra (Root or Muladhara) represented aids in the movement and self-esteem and is sustained by consuming root vegetables like radish onion, garlic and protein rich food like meat and eggs. Represented by the color Red, this chakra is located at the very base of your spine, near your tailbone. When this chakra is properly balanced, you will feel a sense of accomplishment along while being consumed with peaceful thoughts when your mind dwells on things such as money, safety, and shelter.


The Sacral Chakra or Swadhistana is located in the navel helps in control and balance of life while bringing you creative energy that allows you to enjoy life. Fruits such as mango, orange, and strawberries sustain this chakra and allow you to enjoy all the pleasurable things life has to offer, without overdoing them. This chakra is represented by the color Orange.


The third chakra Manipura or Solar Plexus Chakra is located in the Solar Plexus. Represented by the color yellow, the word Manipura literally translates to “lustrous gem” and governs self-confidence, ego, and self-esteem. This chakra is sustained by the consumption of dairy products such as milk, cheese, yogurt and rice and cereals.


Represented by the color Green, the heart chakra or Anahata is located right over your heart and helps govern joy, love and inner peace. In order to sustain the needs of this chakra, the body needs to be fed with leafy vegetables and green tea which allows you to see the compassion and kindness in others even during hard times.

The fifth chakra, Vishuddha or the throat chakra is represented by the color Blue and is responsible for governing our willpower, creativity, and communication. The word Vishuddha translates to “very pure” and is sustained with the help of consuming liquids such as fruit juices or even plain water for sustenance. This chakra helps lend a voice to your personal truths.

The sixth chakra Ajna or The Third Eye is located on the forehead, between the eyes while being represented by the color Indigo. Ajna translates to “beyond wisdom” and helps open up your mind to the “The Sixth Sense” by allowing you to comprehend information beyond the material world and the other prevalent 5 senses.

The seventh and final Chakra, The Crown Chakra is also known as Sahasrara is represented by the color Violet and is placed right at the top of the head. Representing pure consciousness energy, this chakra is responsible for intuition, wisdom, and spirituality and can be sustained not by consuming food but via pure emotions such as love. Attempting to balance this chakra will help align and balance all other chakras.

Final Thoughts

Make sure to eat a diet that contains these foods if you wish to keep your chakras in balance thus allowing you to lead a happy, blissful, and contended life.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s